Skip to main content


The mandate of the School of Energy Research Committee is to support the advancement of applied research and development, consistent with the BCIT mission and mandate statements.

Faculty members

Committee member Areas of interest
Mehrzad Tabatabaian, PhD, PEng
Program Head, Mechanical Engineering
Renewable energy, energy efficiency and harvesting, clean-low carbon energy systems, thermodynamics, advanced FEM and CFD, turbulent fluid flows, physical modeling of dynamical systems, applied mechanics, and technology applications in education.
Vice Chair
Bob Gill, MEng, PEng
Faculty, Telecommunications and Networks
Dual career path: telecommunications and networks, and power systems. Tertiary interests are eHealth, vehicular technologies, industrial networking and signal processing.
Faculty, Mechanical Engineering
Faculty, Chemical & Environmental Technology
John Dian, PhD
Faculty, Electrical and Computer Engineering
John has interests in the internet of things (IoT), video and image processing, and telecommunications.
Alok Dhungana, MASc, MBA Candidate, PEng
Faculty, Power Engineering
Alok joined BCIT in 2015. His expertise lies on biochar, biomaterials, torrefaction, thermal engineering, nanotechnology, and artificial muscle.
Mike Safoniuk, PhD, MEng
Department Head, Power Engineering
Mike joined the BCIT Power Engineering group in August of 2006. Mike has published various articles related to three phase fluidization hydrodynamics. As well, Mike has worked with chemical reactions, etching, finite element modelling of injection moulding, and environmental engineering.
Hamid Talebi, MSc Network Security, CCNP
Faculty, Computer Information Systems Administration
Hamid joined the research committee in March of 2021. Hamid has research interests is cybersecurity, network security, network traffic analysis, malware analysis, and cloud security.

Administration members

Andrea Frisque, PhD, PEng
School of Energy

Brian Buckley, BSc
Associate Dean
Industrial and Mechanical Trades

Brent Dunn, MEng, PEng
Associate Dean
Mechanical Engineering

Kacem Habiballah, MA, EdD
Associate Dean
Chemical, Digital Communications and Machinist

Matthew Pedley, BASc, PEng
Associate Dean
Electrical Engineering and Technology

Holly Stanley
Operations Manager
School of Energy

Research liaison

Joseph Boyd, MSc (Physics), MLS
Program Head, Applied Research Liaison Office